Why Foundations Need to Embrace Social Media

A few months back, I began a workshop for staff from a variety of foundations by asking them to shout out all of their whiny, cry-baby excuses for not getting involved in social media. The excuses flew at me fast and furious, like so many tranquilizer darts. I don’t have time. It’s too much work. We don’t have the resources. Can’t figure out the return on investment. Senior staff don’t see the value. We’re afraid of losing control. What if people criticize us? My shoes are too tight.

I had about forty-five minutes to convince these people that social media is more than relevant to philanthropy. That it is core to our future. I blogged about the arguments I made for the Philanthropy News Digest. Please take a look.

, ,

  1. #1 by Joe Waters on March 16, 2010 - 4:28 pm

    Larry, glad I found your blog! Do you have some examples of HOW foundations are using SM to interact with nonprofits? I work for a hospital and I’m big advocate for using social media and I want to make the case that being on SM is another way to appeal and communicate with Foundations. These are important to us as we raise most of our money from them!

    Thanks, Larry!

    Joe
    @joewaters
    Selfishgiving.com

  2. #2 by Mark Petersen on December 2, 2009 - 12:37 pm

    Good for you – thanks for this post. The world is different, and we must all embrace these changes. Not getting in the game isn’t an option.

    • #3 by Larry Blumenthal on December 3, 2009 - 9:01 am

      Couldn’t agree more, Mark. There is so much to gain from giving social media a try. Thanks for your thought.

Leave a Reply

